Home Technical Talk

Topgun/'retopology HELP

Hey, this is my first time ever doing some retopology, I'd just like another artist's opinion on how I'm doing, I feel like I've been adding too many poly's, i've got no limit this is just for practise.

Replies

• SsSandu_C
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SsSandu_C polycounter lvl 13
    Even if it is for practice you should have a poly limit. If you are practicing for game models then you should keep to the limitations that comes with them. Yeah you are right the lp mesh is way to dense. Start over and go more light on the poly count and put a poly limit.
  • Kukkitero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks!

Anyone think they can just show me a tutorial or give me a quick example on how I should be managing the poly's?
  • pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
    There is no such thing as too dense or too low - It just depends on the intended use of the model. What you are doing at the moment is pretty much in line with what one would see in a realtime ingame cinematic made for a project like Uncharted or StarCraft II.
  • Kukkitero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior wrote: »
    There is no such thing as too dense or too low - It just depends on the intended use of the model. What you are doing at the moment is pretty much in line with what one would see in a realtime ingame cinematic made for a project like Uncharted or StarCraft II.