Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Critique my Portfolio

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
CarlK3D polycounter lvl 7
I'm looking for any Criticism or Tips on ways I can improve my portfolio. I'm happy with the layout right now and can only think I need better work on there.

I've split it into 2 sections Left Side - for Hard Surface Work (Guns, Vehicles, Robots for Applying for Simulation or Bigger Games Studios). Right Side - Hand Painted Work (Since AUS is mainly Mobile and I think traditional Art is really important in this field)

I've been working on adding things to my portfolio for a few months now so new work will appear there from time to time.

Let me know what you think - Portfolio

Replies

• ZacD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    I think the main issue is there is a conflict of styles. It's hard for a company to tell what direction you want to take your art, where your interests are, and if you can actually product consistently good hand painted models or realistic normal mapped models.

Also the Reaper's Rifle is no where near as good as the AK-47, I wouldn't include it with your portfolio.

I think this image would make a better thumbnail for the bike http://payload196.cargocollective.com/1/13/422701/6226228/-1%20Game%20Shot_1100.jpg
  • CarlK3D
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I agree with the conflict in art direction. perhaps I'll turn off some pages depending on what job I'm applying for at the time.
    I will end up removing the Doom Rifle when I have a better piece to show. thinking of doing the M41A Pulse Rifle from Alien.
    I'll try out that Image as a thumbnail also.
  • ZacD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    Also, there's 11 different fonts on your home page, it just looks messy with that many.
  • Tobbo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Tobbo polycounter lvl 11
    It might be a good idea to add your name and email on your images as well.
  • Optinium