Home General Discussion

Using Concept Art for Model Reference

Pyxis
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Pyxis polycounter lvl 5
Hi all, I'm a games student who will be graduating and building a professional portfolio soon, and I have a couple of questions about the etiquette of using other peoples' concept art as reference to build your model(s).

1. If you contact the artist for permission and don't get a reply, should you steer clear of using that image? Or just proceed with the project and make sure they're credited?

On that note, is it always necessary to ask permission?

2. Is it bad form to model a character or scene from an existing game/other media and put it in your portfolio?

3. When you're modelling from a concept, can you make changes to it? ie. remove a prop, change a shirt colour etc.

I keep getting differing answers to these questions from my profs and grads from my program so I wanted to clarify.

Replies

• MattQ86
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MattQ86 polycounter lvl 15
    1. I would steer clear of using an image you're not given permission to use.

2. Hazardous' portfolio seems to be comprised largely of existing characters and he seems to be doing quite well for himself. One of the more interesting reoccurring themes throughout this forum is people making finished pieces out of unused concept art.

3. This is something you should use your own judgement. Go with what you think works best just try not to diverge from the concept too much.
  • JordanN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN interpolator
    2. Is it bad form to model a character or scene from an existing game/other media and put it in your portfolio?
    Hazardous has Chun Li in his portfolio and Capcom doesn't seem to care. Just don't attempt to sell it or claim credit for originality.