Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio Feedback Request, Doran

Hello Polycount,

I just wanted to create this thread in hopes that I could get some portfolio feedback. I have been doing 3d art for a little over 4 years now and I can admit that my time in college I didn't work as hard as I should have. Although I believed I was a hard worker (bahahaha). I have worked with some true professionals who humbled me in that department. Over the last year or so I have been working very hard however and have had a couple of jobs (currently working with an indie team). I have worn many different hats during my time being employed but my main focus is going to be creating art in Zbrush / Maya and gaining better fundamental skills (pencil + photoshop).

Any feedback I could get on the art or the website would be great. I am using the paid version of carbonmade that I tried to make look as pretty / functional as possible and bought a domain name through google in the hopes of looking more professional and having my own email :p.

The site is: www.doran3d.com

Cheers

Replies

• Dimfist
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Dimfist polycounter lvl 8
    I think your website is pretty easy to navigate. It's basic in design but there is a lot to be said about letting the art speak for you.
    One thing I have a problem with is making sure all my pieces are my strong ones. I've heard that some people judge by the weakest link. Just food for thought. This reminds me that I need to work on mine. :D
  • cholden
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cholden polycounter lvl 18
    It's all about showcasing your BEST work, and you are showcasing EVERYTHING. In fact, I was quite surprised by the quality of some of the work buried in this site.

I would retool this to a single portfolio page focusing on 3d Game Models page. This seems to have the best complete content.

The zbrush stuff is all wip sketches, not portfolio material.