Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

dwall's first model ever, yes I'm a noob

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
dwall polycounter lvl 4
Hay guise!

Gosh I'm so nervous, first real post and all :poly115:
I made this back in April/May while applying for a school I really wanted to go to, but sadly I didn't get in this year so I'll have to try again next year.
Maybe it had something to do with there being over 500 applicants for 30 positions and I had zero (edit: almost no) experience before March 2013? :icon15:

I lost a bit of momentum over the summer and I've had a really hard time getting back to modeling (it just seems so intimidating!) but I think now is the time to act if I'm ever going to get anywhere! Two of my old high school buddies, both of whom have jobs in the industry and are by my standards damn good artists, encouraged me to post this here to kick start my modeling :)

So this dune buggy, being basically my first model ever, was the most complex model I could come up with that I thought I could manage to do in 6 weeks (deadline for application) with my limited skills (keep in mind I was working full time as well).
It's not modeled after any existing car, I just looked at a lot of pictures and videos of these cars and did the best interpretation I could. I tried to make the engine as realistic as possible but it was a bit overwhelming!

I'm a bit embarrassed to say that I still haven't learned to unwrap or texture so this is just rendered in marmoset with a few basic materials and lights. Any feedback or acknowledgment that you've taken a look is appreciated!

Enjoy!

YvHuaNW.jpg

tfF3jxL.jpg

mFiQ4E9.jpg

cvMoomi.jpg

ILHoek3.jpg

P5U91tk.jpg

Replies

• A-N-P
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    A-N-P polycounter lvl 6
    Model wise, I think it looks great. Cool design, interesting parts like the chunky ass wheels and engine.