Home Technical Talk

Which game engine? - Jump N Run

Hello everyone, this is my very first post on this board and I have a very noobish question I think. Well, first of all, Im a german guy and my english is sometimes - naah - name it wonky. Please ignore this :D

Okay. Now to my question.
I want to make a simple Jump N Run. Well, simple is relative for a complete beginner like me, but I didnt want highly realistic physics or something like this. The game idea and concept is nowadays under construction and I didnt really know what I want to do. I hope at the end, it will be a mix of Limbo and Scary Girl. The atmosphere should be depressive and deep with a sad story (like limbo) and the 2.5D style of Scary Girl. Something like that.

I know, at this moment it sounds very vague, but this project is a part of my heart and I really want to do this.

Now to my real question. Which engine is the best for this job?
I want to become a game designer and it is very important for me, to take a engine, which is used in the industry. Well, I will never become a programmer, but I want to know the functionality of the different "big boss engines".

This is the only requirement. (....and the preferred script language: Python and/or C++).

If you need more informations, feel free to ask. Im not a noob in the 3D buisness (see my portfolio if you like), but I never used a game engine before.

Thanks for your attention audience.
Have a great day/night and life!

Replies

• joeriv
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    joeriv polycounter lvl 7
    For rapid prototyping, and getting something playable up and running, Unity is the best choice imo.
    It's just really easy to get something going in that engine.

You can use C# in unity for scripting, their tutorials/documentation on it is really good, and if you run into a problem, or don't know how to approach something there are a lot of resources/examples/etc out there.