Home Technical Talk

Is it possible to have a mirror seam not show at all?

Before assuming I haven't read and searched for others with the same problem, I have, also with no success. I've been having this issue for days and this is after I've read many FAQs going over normal baking and what not. I'm fairly new to baking normals, as I've only been doing it for a few months. To show this issue, I made a simple box, cut it in half, welded so it matches UVs, then baked in xNormal... so yea I cant figure out why I get this slight seam. Thanks for the constructive advice ahead of time.

2hq6olj.jpg

Replies

• BARDLER
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BARDLER polycounter lvl 12
    Some more info would be helpful. A better look at the whole lowpoly and highpoly. Your UV layout. Did you offset your mirrored UVs outside the 0-1 UV space? Did you bake with a cage, or just distance?
  • Mistform05
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Did the following..

Cut mesh in half
    UV'd that half
    Mirrored the mesh and welded
    The offset the new half 1 UV space over.
    Baked in a cage, (tried cage bake in both xNormal and 3DS MAX)

2j4x548.jpg

2dj8pdv.jpg
  • Mistform05
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Oh and the low poly is literally just a stretched cube. Wanted to keep it simple so I could figure out this issue.
  • Snader
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Snader polycounter lvl 15
    You're getting a seam because the blurple background color is slightly different than that on the inside of the two rectangles on the righthand side of your texture. The boxes are slighly lighter, which means it's raised a bit (the blue channel kind of works like a heightmap). Being raised, but not at that one middle edge, makes the middle edge recessed and thus you get the seam.
  • Mistform05
    Options
    Offline / Send Message