Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Hand Painted Texture practice.

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
StevenZer polycounter lvl 4
Hai Guys I'm kind of new to hand painted texturing. This is what i made so far.
Rb3SQb1.jpg
C35GYUi.jpg

I'm looking for some critiques that will help me get better! :)

Replies

• heyguy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    heyguy polycounter lvl 5
    I would add more color and contrast in the wood. Maybe add some dark browns and dark blues/purples in the creases of the wood. I would also add more wear and tear on the rivets. They all look exactly the same right now. I like painterly look of the metal rim but I would also add more painterly scratches, dents, wear and tear, etc . It's looking good so far, keep it up!
  • StevenZer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Played around with color and contrasts and added some dark shadowlines It got better than before. Thanks for the critique! :)

v1AE6Y0.jpg
    ZOkHY40.jpg
  • StevenZer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Update! Added some more stuff. Medieval styled Captain America Shield. xD
    TjWvVTU.jpg
  • Wendy de Boer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Wendy de Boer interpolator
    You're making good progress so far! :)

One thing you should think about, is how this asset is going to be seen ingame. Is it mostly going to be seen upright, when held or mounted onto a wall? In that case, it will really pay to put a clear lighting direction in the texture.

In order to get a clear lighting direction, you would want to highlight the outer metal trim on top. Also, you would want to put shadowing on the bottom. Since the shield is perfectly round, this would create a smooth gradient all around.

On the inside of the metal trim you would want to do the exact opposite. The bottom part is the top-facing part, so it would be highlighted. The top part is the down-facing part, so it would be in shadow.