Home Dota 2

Ewing's Workshop Thread

Hey Polycount!

So I finally mustered the stones to post my first item on the Dota 2 workshop.

It was an awesome learning experience actually going through all the different hoops that you need to go through to get your item imported. Before this project, all of my models have been diffuse-only and pretty simple.

I would love some feedback on the diffuse texture, the masking (which I have never done before), the overall feel, and any other feedback!

Also, unrelated, I am so consistently amazed at the helpfulness of this entire community. I decided in May of this year that I wanted to do video game art and started trolling the forum with NO experience, so submitting something to the Dota 2 shop in just 6 months feels pretty big for me, and it would have been a much rockier road without this community, so THANKS!

[IMG][/img]In-game_Shots_zpsb9fbb105.jpg

Workshop link (I wrote up a little story to go along with the item if anyone feels like a quick 1 paragraph read)
http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=190394059

Replies

• Ewing
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    So I started in on modeling and texturing a pair of axes for beastmaster. I wanted to incorporate some sort of branch situation, as it seemed more consistent with his lore that his weapons would be very rough-hewn and rugged.

This is a render from blender with diffuse only. I made it in at 224 tris per axe, which is the exact upper limit for his in game LOD. Took forever to pair down the original design to few enough tris.

Would love some feedback!

[IMG][/img]Bramble_Axe_Process_1_zps2dc388db.png
  • Tyn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Tyn polycounter lvl 10