Home General Discussion

Mocap Tutorial for Games

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Headless polycounter lvl 5
I appreciate that most people who post on Polycount are more interested in modelling and texturing, but I figured this was as good a place to post this. I made a tutorial for motion capture clean-up for games...

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XxHi7_pXN-k"]Motionbuilder Mocap Clean-Up for Games - YouTube[/ame]

Some info: I'm a senior animator at Ubisoft Montreal and have worked on games like Far Cry 3 and Watch_Dogs, so hopefully I have some useful wisdom to impart, and if there are any other game animators, I'd love to hear about your processes too.

Thanks.

Replies

• Makkon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Makkon polycounter
    You have perfect timing! I'm going to spread this around the studio and show it to our character TD. We just got a mocap studio. Thanks so much!
  • Fomori
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fomori polycounter lvl 12
    Nice. Thanks. I'm very interested in learning more about this process.
  • Bellsey
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bellsey polycounter lvl 8
    this is an excellent video and really shows the work you need to do when working with mocap data and prepping it for your game. Motionbuilder is so good at doing this type of work. I've used it for over 10 years in games and film and it's never let me down. It's always been one of my favourite software packages.
  • MiAlx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MiAlx polycounter lvl 10
    Hey Headless,

I just wanted to say thank you very much for taking the time to do this.

It is not easy to get good info on mocap workflows, since most tutorials just show the basics etc. and I'm really interested in learning more about the various processes.

So again, thank you for that. :)
  • ExcessiveZero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ExcessiveZero polycounter lvl 6