Home Technical Talk

Some basic issues with modelling

Tin_Soldier
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Tin_Soldier polycounter lvl 6
Hi All,

Full disclosure, I'm a complete novice wrt 3d modelling but have recently begun to explore it as a hobby. I'm running through some tutorials on Digital Tutors and have been getting on quite well. However, I've been doing some of my own work and have run into the issues below:

Wp679SW.jpg?1

The top image is just the standard shaded viewport - I'm not sure what's causing the 'shadowing' to appear on the polys. I can overcome it by inserting an edge loop but part of me feels like that's cheating :\ Can anyone explain what the issue is and if I'm doing something wrong?

The second set of images are taken from a quick render using default settings. I don't know what's causing the shadowing or even if it's expected behaviour. I can overcome it by dropping loads of light sources into the scene but that seems like another cheat, not a viable solution. Can someone point out if I'm going something wrong?

Thanks all.

Replies

• Synaesthesia
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Synaesthesia polycounter
    That isn't shadowing. It's called smoothing. Your object is made up of one smoothing group, so light is going to flow over every edge unless there's a loop there to define the shape. Even then, you'll still see some of that darkness on the edges. That's probably because you appear to be using two lights in your Max viewport instead of one, so you're getting two different shadows that are converging to make it look twice as dark as it would be had it been lit up by a light source you created.
  • csprance
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    csprance polycounter lvl 13
    This is not my tutorial but it's pretty decent and it will help you out a lot.