Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Level Designer

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Murasam polycounter lvl 11
Hello all I am a level designer currently enrolled in college. I just started working on my portfolio. But my first level piece is done. And here it is. I will post the works in progress picture

382888b4ce799f4fa9b7ac3d7f04c6b0?AccessKeyId=81276977DF97F1939345&disposition=0

Replies

• djgardner
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I'd personally start using an engine and assembling your levels in there. Get to know the engine and such. Marmoset isn't the best choice for that. haha
  • mats effect
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yeah I would recommend working in UDK or Cry Engine and getting to know them. Marmoset is awesome, but its more for artists to show off their work rather than building a complete environment in it.
  • cmtanko
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cmtanko polycounter lvl 10
    Same as above.
    Modeling/texturing and composition looks good. But in the scene, you'r missing AO and everything seems abit dark, so cant enjoy the details.
    Lil more work and you'll love what you have.
  • mats effect
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Also just thought I would point out (before I know from person experience) do you want to be a level designer or environment artist? Because the two are quite different. You piece above is leaning more towards an environment art portfolio piece than level design.
  • mkZ3R0
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    You should tweak your normal an specular maps. The normal map looks to bumpy, especially on the wall, tiles on the floor in front of the door and the wood. Specularity and Glossiness seems overall to equal, give the individual materials more contrast and seperate the general scene into its materials.