Home General Discussion

Question to experienced Environment Artists: What should I learn?

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
onewinged polycounter lvl 8
Hi I'm a student at Blekinge institute of technology located in the southern part of Sweden.

I have some questions I want to ask you guys.

I have just recently realized that I want to become and environment artist in the future. I'm a novice when it comes to environment creation and in my upcoming school project I'm going to try to figure out what different areas I should study, to improve myself and hopefully be able to work as a Environment Artist in the industry sometime in the future.

I'm doing this so I can adjust my future studies to help myself and hopefully other students to become better environment artists.

So I would like to ask you to share your experiences working as a environment artist.

I would also like to ask for advice on things you think is important for a student to learn? This can be anything you think is relevant, this can be your own tips and tricks and all from tutorials, books and articles and anything else you can come up with. The more you're willing to share and suggestions the better and I would very much appreciate it.

I'm also planing to look up different companies employment requirements but I'm not sure how specific those are going to be and that’s why I'm also asking for your opinions here on polycount because I think it's to gather as many opinions as possible when it comes to things like this.

Thanks in advanced /onewinged

Replies

• Bibendum
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Image composition
  • Torch
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Torch interpolator
    I would say Lighting and Traditional art techniques are probably helpful, composition as already mentioned. There are tons of 'Art of...' books you could take a look at for reference as well as art for films to show effective lighting and atmosphere, etc.
  • benji
    Options