Home General Discussion

Character Rigging Industry Entrrance Standard?

Hey all,
i am currently studying a games developement course and am finding myself to be enkoying the rigging side of character development very enjoyable. i am wondering what is the minimum standard requirements to hopefully get a career as a character rigger in the industry.

Thanks

Replies

• ZacD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    You will want to have a good demo reel and some rigs for people to look at, expect to be able to rig anything from a person, horse, or squid, to a helicopter, machine with pistons, or functing tank treads. You have to be able to provide any tool an animator would want or need. For next gen games, muscle and cloth rigging and sims are going to be more important.

Look at rigging demo reels on youtube and vimeo to get a better idea.

Never go for the minimum.
  • Rick Stirling
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rick Stirling polycounter lvl 18
    This is Valmors old reel from a few years ago. Learn everything in here:

http://valmorgarcia.com/
  • oglu
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    oglu polycount lvl 666
    also take a close look at humanIK in maya/motionbuilder... how it works and how to extend the system to your needs... its the base rig in most mocap driven games...
  • Fomori
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fomori polycounter lvl 12
    Probably a good idea to start learning Maya (MEL?) or Max Script as well.
  • Bellsey
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bellsey polycounter lvl 8
    check out this career profile from a character TD at Double Negative. It's film and not games I know, but the core skills are essentially the same.

http://www.dneg.com/career_profiles/career_profile_-_character_td_629.html
  • Denny
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Denny polycounter lvl 14