Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Upcoming Sci-Fi Level

Hello there!

Recently I've been working on my own sci fi level which is still in the fairly early layout stages. I'm making everything in maya, and I kind of build as I go along- so as you'll see in the screenshots I've provided, some elements are more developed than others. I've even completed a couple of pieces for it already and one is well on the way.

Originally this was going to be a Jedi Academy homage, but that has quickly changed. I found that while I love the game and the Star Wars franchise, for it to be truly 'star wars' (I was going for an imperial base) it would need to be quite clean, and simplistic. As nice as that is, since I'm still fairly new to the world of games art, I felt the need to challenge myself, so ended up going in my own direction- one that involves a more gritty feel, with more detail. I've been taking a lot of inspiration from Warframe.

I'd like to show you all where I am with it so far, and get some tips from the pros. At the moment everything is very modular, so there's lots of duplicating going on (great for sci fi) however I'd like to break up the modularity a little, but I'm not sure how. Couple of unique assets perhaps to break up the composition, I'm open to all suggestions :) any asset ideas would be appreciated too! I don't want to make too many complicated things, I'd like to balance it with some simple objects like crates and perhaps weapon racks, again, suggestions are welcomed :) In a nutshell, it's a sci fi base inside a mountain that's used for some sort of power study/processing for advanced weaponry. Ok enough of the essay, here's the stuff:

The green block represents the scale of an average-joe human. As you can see, a lot of things are still very simple.
7jsqWjD.jpg

The walkways have lifts that would allow the player to get down to the main work floor.
CnUE2ym.jpg