Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

WIP African Sunset - UDK

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
mache polycounter lvl 7
Latest Update:
14wzldv.jpg

Original Post:
Hi, I probably should have posted this at the beginning of the project. But here I am now, asking for feedback, for my WIP scene.
I decided to do this scene because I wanted to try out foliage, as I have done it only once or twice earlier.

As I am not a character artist, I will probably not be making the elephants in the scene, but I'm open for suggestions on what to take their place.

Reference Photo, from google.
29nhrep.jpg

Current Progress:
ou8j02.png
I've turned off global illumination to get the trees darker.

The foliage I've made for the scene, under a more neutral lighting.
x6mm4n.png

A note, perhaps of importance, I'm still a beginner at UDK, I've yet only done one (half-finished) scene before. Which means, this is much, me trying to learn UDK and becomming an environment artist.

Replies

• armodka
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    The tree is looking real nice. You got the feel for it pretty well. Although in the reference the tree does seem to be a bit larger. I'd love to see a wireframe/textures if you get a chance. Are the bushes a bunch of alpha planes? Those are looking pretty good!

If you're not going to model the animals, maybe you can make some huge rocks (Like the Lion King) or an oasis? Keep it up! :D
  • mache
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    mache polycounter lvl 7
    Thank you :)
    Yes, the bushes are built with planes, & you're right, the tree seems a bit larger in the reference. I made a second variation on it seen on the left in the image. But I'm not happy with either of them, I will redo them later.
    I've played around with the values since last update, added a road, tweaked the placement of some foliage, modeled a new smaller plant, modeled a different variation of the big tree.