Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Forest Environment - Cryengine 3

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Dibbz polycounter lvl 4
An Environment I've been working on for a few months. First time using Zbrush to create textures and first real project working in Cryengine 3. All assets are my own. Would love to get some feedback from you guys.

10026890885_a7bf367742_o.jpg

10026717335_d2a8d5d712_o.jpg

10026721875_9848cfed9a_o.jpg

10026797423_8fd813fcdf_o.jpg

10026733056_21b3329c5b_o.jpg

10026720515_4cf96a9dbc_o.jpg

Replies

• DInusty
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DInusty polycounter lvl 17
    looks pretty rad! im currently working with trees a lot at work and i can't tell but your trees volume wise look very flat? is there a way for u to get vert color inside the core of the trees to get that depth back?

another thing to is the insides of the tree don't seem to get much thicker in the tree as you start looking at the center. remember at the core of the trees canopy you should be seeing the thickest amount of leaves you will see on the tree as a whole.

Are you normal thieving from a volume shape for the tree as a whole?

tons of random questions i know but just want to get the ball rolling on how you put them together so we can make them look better than they already are cus man... they already look pretty dope
  • Dibbz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Dibbz polycounter lvl 4
    Thanks for the advice.

I adjusted the normals using a speedtree script that came with UDK to make the tree canopy normals emit outwards like a sphere. I also tweeked the cryenengine material so the backfacing shadows are more pronounced and it doesn't let as much light through.

Also added another branch to the tree to thicken it up a bit.

10029310076_3dda1dd1d8_o.jpg
  • e-freak
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    awesome! looks great :) any chance you release those assets to the community?
  • Havoc89
    Options
    Offline / Send Message