Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Modular dwarf

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Thaorini polycounter lvl 7
Hello! First thread on these forums so hopefully I've put this thread in the right place!

I've just recently finished a four year course in 3d animation but sadly none of the lecturers had a background in said area of study (something that left me scratching my head) so the majority of my 3d skills have been self taught, I really want to become a 3d character/asset modeller for a games company (or any company that will hire me) so I set the challenge for myself to make a dwarf that can easily be changed and adapted quickly to fit numerous roles.

First role I wanted to create was a Dwarf Slayer from the Warhammer series
Warhammer_slayer_fanart_by_Tygodym.jpg

So after a wee look around the internet for possible reference's I could use for the body etc I got to work and last night this is what I came up with.

1269142_711223132239603_497422091_o.jpg

Although I'm fairly happy with how he's turned out so far theres several parts that have been nagging me (hands + waist cloth still to be detailed)

Back.png
Sideview.png

Face.png

So far I'm rather happy with how my wee dwarf has turned out and I think I'm getting close to the proper detailing then poly painting aspect but I was of course hoping to see if any other keen eyed modellers could spot things I've missed or give critisims on how I could make the dwarf more dwarfy! :)

Other kind of dwarfs I'm hoping to make from this base one is a lucha libre dwarf, hoplite, heavy armoured so all fit into one scene with one another to show off my rapid character/asset creation skills!

Replies

• Neox
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Neox godlike master sticky
    here is what you should focus on in your studies:

anatomy
    anatomy
    anatomy

get the major shapes right, then take care of details.
  • PHArt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message