Home Technical Talk

Maya UVW mapping

Hello all,

I am new to maya and just had a few questions:
in terms of UVW mapping, how can I get the unselected faces in the uvw editor to stop disappearing when I have a face selected?
Also, The planar projections look normalized, is there something Im missing to get them to not be normalized?

Also, when I created a subdivided and smoothed model (my highpoly) it just exports the low poly? not sure how to explain this. Very confused.

Thanks!

Replies

• Bartalon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bartalon polycounter lvl 12
    It sounds like you might have models which are parented to each other. If this is the case, only the UVs on the model corresponding to your selection will be visible, while the UVs on all other models will vanish. It's annoying for sure. The only way around this would be to temporarily unparent your objects or combine everything. You can check for object parenting using Window > Outliner.

If you are using the 3 key (smooth preview) to subdivide your model, note that it is simply a preview and your mesh has not actually been subdivided. In order to physically subdivide your model, you will need to use the Mesh > Smooth tool.

Don't forget to delete your history...
  • Joopson
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joopson quad damage
    When you select faces, the others disappear. That's just how it is. There may be a way to fix it, but I don't really know. I usually just use the other components instead.
  • benc
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Might just be the Maya way, the UVW editor is a very powerful way of making selections once you get used to it thought :)