Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio - Environment Artist

Hey guys, I graduated school a little over a year ago and have spent my time since then applying to different studios and redoing most of my portfolio. Any feedback or suggestions you may have would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

Site: www.danquinn3d.com

Replies

• BradMyers82
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BradMyers82 interpolator
    Maybe your working on it now? I can't connect to it.
  • DQ89
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ya sorry about that, it was down for a bit should be fine now though.
  • BradMyers82
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BradMyers82 interpolator
    I'm no environment artist so you can take my advice with a grain of salt...

In terms of the portfolio, I think its perfect really, You just need a little more content, one more really solid scene at least. Also, I think it would be nice if you put a brief description up for the environment. Like explain what the environment is for and some of the ideas you had and why you chose to do things the way you did.

The reason I say this is like with the Venice scene it looks overly clean to me. In a way its nice, but it also gives it too much of a cg vibe imo. Here is a specific example... The weathering on the walls is very very subtle. There is no large cracks or identifiable details there. Now I'm sure part of the reason you did this is for tiling, but I think you could stamp details in there some how to break things up. The edge of the water is another place. I see no watermarks meeting the waters edge, and you would most certainly have that.

In the shire, the lighting and grass and stuff turned out awesome. I love the feel of the whole scene! The only thing there is again some of the smaller details. Like the fence posts don't really have any detail at all, it looks like a basic texture slapped on there, and the dirt path could be broken up a lot more with details.