Home General Discussion

Question: What makes a environment vivid/living/interesting

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
onewinged polycounter lvl 8
Hello people!
I'm in need of some assistance.

I'm a student and during the coming four weeks I'm going to try to answer the question: How to create a vivid/living/interesting environment in a games by using the optimized modular modeling.

When it come to modular modeling part I'm well aware that there is more than enough information on this forum alone about it, but I'm having a hard time finding information about what makes a environment vivid/living/interesting.

If you have any articles or any other sort of information about this subject I would appreciate you sharing it with me.

I would also like to ask you what you think make and game environment interesting, and how you would go about to make it. This will probably vary from person to person but I believe there must also be some kind of work-flow and/or design process that helps with the creation of vivid/living/interesting environments.

Thanks in advance /onewinged

Replies

• spiderDude
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    spiderDude polycounter lvl 8
    That is a very broad question, I don't think you're going to get a precise answer.

Like anything else that looks vivid/living/interesting, it all boils down to good
    knowledge and execution of the Principles of Design.
  • ikken
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    onewinged wrote: »
    I would also like to ask you what you think make and game environment interesting, and how you would go about to make it. This will probably vary from person to person but I believe there must also be some kind of work-flow and/or design process that helps with the creation of vivid/living/interesting environments.

it all comes down to your art direction. vivid and interesting environments are the ones with better/best creative work done before you jump into modelling package.