Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Looking for critique on my first UVW Unwrapped model

Hello everyone, I'm new to this forum. Sorry for the long post, I just wanted to tell my story after so much difficulties and headaches. I definitely know a LOT more about modelling now, though. You don't have to read anything but the last paragraph.

I'm pretty new to 3D Modelling and I wanted to model a gun. I tried modelling one but ran into some problems, after asking some people at /r/3dsmax for some help, they informed me that the gun I was modelling was really messy and that I should take a look at some basic hard surface modelling tutorials. I took their advice and after watching the tutorials they linked me, I realized how disgusting my gun was. This was the gun I was modelling. It was before they told me that you should aim to have quads or tris. I swear some polys of that model had to have at least 20 sides.

Either way, after I finally finished watching the tutorials (it was Grant Warwick's Hard Surface Modelling Essentials and one named Beginner's guide to 3ds max Modelling) I wanted to find a good one on modelling a gun, specifically, so I could learn some techniques before I did it myself. Luckily I found one, it was this one: 3ds Max Tutorial - Colt .45 (Part 1) - YouTube . I had to search a lot to find a good tutorial on UVW Unwrapping a gun. After searching a lot, I didn't really find any so I just used a generic UVW Unwrapping tutorial which was this one http://waylon-art.com/uvw_tutorial/uvwtut_07.html . I ran into some problems but you guys helped me and I finally successfully unwrapped my gun!

Then came texturing... I didn't think I'd have any problems after unwrapping my gun but I couldn't find any good metal textures. I looked up tutorials on texturing but they weren't any good. After so much problems with modelling, rigging, unwrapping and texturing, I decided to just f-it and simply used one color and threw some lines in for my texture.