Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

It's a Thread - The real Admiral Ackbar

I started studying Games Art and Animation about 1 year ago, 3 months ago i began concentrating on Zbrush. Did some small Zbrush stuff before, like a few detail passes on a weapon.
Then i found this "Concept" of Ackbar. http://theory-of-everything.deviantart.com/art/Admiral-Akbar-s-Rhum-72309171
YDyudnn.jpg

My goal is to get into character art so i started making this character.
Hope you like it and i hope to get some feedback since i might want to add this to my portfolio... By the way, the pipe is based on the Iraq Lobster from Family Guy ;D

Here are some screens of the sculpt:

Replies

• timgrossmann
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Nearly forgot the polypaint...
  • Swagosaur_McSwag
  • Leinad
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Leinad polycounter lvl 11
    looking good!

I would slow down a bit and concentrate on controlling the forms of your model before polypainting. Right now, it simply looks conceptual/sketchy, at this stage I would go back in and clean everything up.

Also, be careful when using the move brush at high sub-levels.
  • Vailias
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Vailias polycounter lvl 18
    Looks neat. Cute idea.

Boot buckles look awesome.

Few crits: How does he get his coat on? The arm holes at the shoulders are smaller than his forearms. :)
    The tails of the coat right now are a separate piece. looks like a cape stuffed into his belt rather than a single garment that is a long coat.