Home General Discussion

Any interest in building Oculus Rift experiences?

I'm a pretty big believer in the Oculus Rift. I have a dev kit, and I just finished doing the 3-week VR Jam. My game was pretty simple, but it's getting some great feedback, so here's hoping it does well in the competition. Also, as you can tell, I'm not an artist. :\

Anyway, after trying out a bunch of demos, I suspect that there will be a healthy market for non-game experiences. The Rift does wonders for immersion, but a lot of the things that define popular hardcore games aren't a great fit for VR. I think that things like "virtual vacations", museum walkthroughs, or just fascinating 3D environments will find a lot of success. Stuff like the [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=20c_uCFoWTo"]Iceland[/ame] or [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PKoSALEaV28"]Tuscany[/ame] or [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GUcJyRrskT0"]Blue Marble[/ame] demos, for example.

One thing that differentiates such experiences from most games is that they require a ton of 3D art, but not much programming or design. So now I'm thinking that maybe it would be a good opportunity to team up with some artists, where they put together some awesome environmental art and I wrap that art up into a decent and consistent set of Rift experiences. I already have some experience in "best practices" of VR, like how to avoid nausea.

Oculus is already setting up an app store, so there will be a marketplace for this sort of thing. Would anyone be interested in making this kind of experience? Am I crazy?

Replies

• NickGW
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    NickGW polycounter lvl 7