Home General Discussion

Can I still make it into the games industry?

I Graduated from an Art School with a BA in Video Game Design a few years ago. Ever since I graduated many things in life took over, I turned 28, had my first born and began to procrastinate on my portfolio and spent more time with my family and friends than I should have. I've began to revamp my portfolio and really dig deep into creating new art and progressing in 3D, is it still possible for me to find a job in the game industry as a 3D artist or is it too late? Sometimes I feel as if it's too late for me, that no studio is going to want someone who graduated with a BA 2 years ago with no shipped titles, it really worries me. Thought I'd ask some of you who have experience for some thoughts on this topic.

Replies

• ZacD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    It's not to late, the industry frequently hires people in their late 20's for entry level positions and you don't even need a degree to land a job.
  • Bibendum
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Is your work good? Cause that's really the only important question
  • kimchee519
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks guys, its good to hear its never too late. I think it really always boils down to if the work being produced is as good as it can be in the end.
  • aajohnny
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    aajohnny polycounter lvl 13
    It's never too late, just make sure you have a nice, clean portfolio with good work and have a good attitude. You should be fine. Post your work in the P&P section and get some feedback :D Good luck.
  • chrisradsby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    chrisradsby polycounter lvl 14
    kimchee519 wrote: »