Home Technical Talk

Help with UVs!

Hi, I don't wanna make 30 threads per day but I really need some help to finish this.
I have this UV/Normals problem wich I have since forever, I have researched on how to fix this, a lot, I don't like bothering people for not searching, but I don't understand
Check it out:
map_normals.png
I'm not sure on how bad are things in general because it's my first time modelling but the blade has serious issues, talking about the edges.
Can someone tell me how to fix this? Any good tutorial?
Thanks!

Replies

• ignamatador150
    Oh and I have relaxed UVs like 20 times, what I haven't done is a cage, I don't know to do one in 3ds Max, and I can't on Xnormal because the high poly is about 1,5 milion vertex and on DX9 the max is lower
  • cptSwing
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cptSwing polycounter lvl 11
    To add a cage in Max, slap a 'Turn to Poly' and then a 'Projection' modifier on your lowpoly mesh. Extrude the cage and voil
  • ignamatador150
    Newbie question, how do I extrude the cage?
  • ignamatador150
    Some screens to show what I mean:
    screenshot0.jpg
    screenshot1.jpg
    screenshot2.jpg
  • 2cat
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    2cat polycounter lvl 5
    The simplest way: in the Projection modifier there's a Cage tab. Using the Push Amount or Percent sliders will extrude your projection cage.
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    You might have a funky cage, you might want to reset and the push the cage.
  • ignamatador150