Home General Discussion

Is it possible to work part time in this industry realistically?

Dear Polycount,

So if you were to put yourself in my shoes, after your remedied the fungal infection, what would your advice be to me?

My wife is the current breadwinner and I'm Mr. Mom right now. The kid is only 6 months old and is a full time job. We don't need the money from me working. I'm looking for work for the sake of enjoying the work, that said, I like money and want to be paid. I'd just like to pay off our student loans early with any extra income and maybe save up for a small arsenal of weapons for when my daughter grows up and starts dating.

Here's the rub. I know I'm good at this stuff and it kills me that I not doing it right now. I was valedictorian and got a shiny "advanced achievement" award for my student portfolio when I graduated in May. There is no way I can put in 40-70 hours a week right now because I simply do not have the time. I also haven't had time to do a real portfolio. The student one was ok I guess, but not as good as I can do. My daughter was born 3 months before I graduated so I had to cut corners in my own opinion, even if I got that award. So I've already killed that student portfolio and took it offline because I don't think it is a proper representation of my skillset.

So step one is obviously make a solid portfolio, that's a given and doable now that the kid doesn't scream or shit every 5 minutes day and night anymore. But what the hell is step two? Raising my daughter is going to get more complicated before it gets easier. She is just starting to crawl. I can't be in my room sculpting steroid-induced, sweaty barbarians in Zbrush while she's crawling around and sticking her tongue in the first available electrical socket in the next room. I can swing part time work late at night, but that's it until she's in school at my best guess.