Home Technical Talk

Realistic Skin

Hello guys. I am doing my model in ZBrush and the time has come for texture... I am not very good with textures, and seek a realistic skin (for all body), how can I get?Polypaint? textures?

Replies

• Brygelsmack
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brygelsmack polycounter lvl 11
  • Jedi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jedi polycounter lvl 12
    This is what you need. Very awesome tutorial.

This tutorial was a waste of my time and money and ill tell you why.

1) No turntable at the end, no render sequence at the end, just the same shot that you get in the promo image. He built the textures specifically for use with the arnold renderer, but didnt do any renders. Admits that hes not very good at using arnold.

What hes supposed to do (i believe this is true) is to bounce between arnold and mari taking renders to make sure that it actually works with the arnold subsurface algorithm and tweak accordingly, not do what he did which is spend 4-5 hours in mari only, no checking, no rendering.

2) He didnt provide the model, any textures, and used $50 displacement maps taken from a mold that are being sold.

Lame.

edit: Apparently they're so uptight about arnold that you cant even make a tutorial about it, making the whole idea about this tutorial even MORE questionable. He could have just as easily used the maya new fast skin2 or vray skin and done a proper tutorial showing the actual process of checking the maps in the actual renderer and not the mari preview shader which doesnt have a subsurface component. Lame x2
  • John51
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    My OS is 32bit and Mari 2.0 is for 64 bit systems. Some other tutorial? this is good:;Portrait Production - Creating a Realistic Portrait in Maya - EAT3D?

edit:I forgot to mention that I want to bring my model for CryEngine 3.
  • Brygelsmack
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brygelsmack polycounter lvl 11
    Jedi wrote: »