Home General Discussion

How long does it take to learn 3D art?

To the standard i could do something simple like make items for dota2?

I know everyone is diffrent but just a rough number.

Replies

• Bruno Afonseca
    Well, I can give you my rough numbers - I started learning 3d around 2007 or 2008, got my first industry job in 2010.
  • Dan!
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Dan! polycounter lvl 6
    anywhere between 1 and 10 years- good luck!
  • Ace-Angel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ace-Angel polycounter lvl 12
  • LMP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    LMP polycounter lvl 13
    It depends how much dedication and effort you put into it. The more time you put into it over a period of time, the faster you'll get better at it. If you spend more time not doing 3D art than doing 3D art, then it'll take longer.
  • WarrenM
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    What you focus on grows. The more you focus, the less time it will take.
  • Isaiah Sherman
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Isaiah Sherman polycounter lvl 14
    "Learning" is a never ending process. What you should be asking is when should you expect to be capable of creating professional quality assets that people would be interested in.

That depends entirely on you.
  • MagicSugar
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MagicSugar polycounter lvl 10
    Learning on your own? Can't really answer that without knowing what your art experience is like. Sculptors who've never worked digital, after taking one zbrush course they're able to translate their pro level trad skills to digital. Lots of them are in the statue forum.

Learning via online course or videos? Probably faster than just relying by yourself if you have zero 3d experience. Some courses allow for interaction and feedback sessions with the instructor. They're like spaced out 8 weeks or so with homework. I don't think you'll be pro ready after such program but it should give you some footing.