Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Advice on portfolio website

Hello people of the internet,

I'm currently a student and had to make a portfolio website a while back. There are some parts that were never really finished and some parts that could be better. Now summer is coming (in name at least)I've got some free time and want to rebuild a lot on the site.

I'd appreciate any feedback at the current state of it. Some adjustments I intend to make are the homepage, better image gallery and a finished about me.

Here's the link:
http://torn-art.com/

My thanks in advance!

Replies

• homrighausen3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    homrighausen3d polycounter lvl 5
    By no means am I super experienced but the unused space on the navigation bar doesn't look good in my opinion and is somewhat distracting. You could possibly fix that issue by just spreading out the buttons on your nav bar to get rid of the unused space.The grunge on your name sorta muddies your name and makes it difficult to read but maybe that's just me. I dig the motorcycle model! Hope these suggestions help :).
  • JohnnyRaptor
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JohnnyRaptor polycounter lvl 15
    spend your time doing art instead of html

theres countless threads on quick free ways/services of creating nice portfolios,

also a good idea to check out how some of the awesome artists of the forum showcase their work here http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=80509 and follow their lead instead of re-inventing the wheel.
  • Bobby J Rice 3rd
    I'm in the same boat in that ill be updating my site as well. Best advise i can give,...

...Clean, professional, non flashy, presentation is everything. Don't let a flashy site overpower your art. Keep it simple and easy to navigate. Keep the focus on your art.

I use blogspot. Super simple- free site with lots of customization options.

I like how this guy presents his work in blogspot.

http://andrewclarkart.blogspot.com/