Home Technical Talk

Self Teaching Max?

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
zebus_0 polycounter lvl 7
Just wondering how many other people are self taught. I went to school and got my degree using LW and then realized I basically have to learn max to have a more relevant resume so I've spent maybe the last 8 months trying to figure out what I'm doing.
I've watched and done several tutorials but I'd say I'm maybe whatever above Max nooblet status would be, still not very good at it. The problem for me is I'm a really hands-on learner so for me just watching or reading a tutorial is very, very difficult. I spend 90% of my time headbutting my desk trying to figure out what I'm doing and maybe 10% of the time actually being productive.
This isn't like a, hey what should tutorials should I do? Thread, I have a feeling that would be some massive flamebait, more like a more efficient way to learn if anybody else is like me, know there has to be. I've been considering getting a membership to Digital Tutors but I wonder if it would be worth what I see as a kind of exorbitant price for more tutorials that may not be very helpful to me. I've considered just seeing if there's somewhere I can take a class in Max and Zbrush so I could have the benefit of having a teacher right there that can show me what to do. Ideas?

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Best method for me to learn new software is to have a project, an end goal, and use that process to learn the software.

As I hit mini-walls, I do three things, in this order: I experiment with features in the software to see if that fixes it, I read that section of the help file to see if there's something useful there, and I do web searches.

Then I keep moving forward with the project, working towards finishing it off. This gives me a concrete goal, and a means to solve real-world problems.

Do you have a goal, an actual project?
  • zebus_0
    Options
    Offline / Send Message