Home General Discussion

Texturing mushroom/fungi?

Hi I'm very new to the whole 3D CGI field, and I'm doing texturing for the first time with limited lessons. What I want to model and texture are giant mushrooms, but their textures don't seem tile-able at all, they all have these grooves and lines that shoots out from the centre forming a circular pattern. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

[edit] Sorry another question: I watch tutorials and he seems to start sculpting high LOD straight in Zbrush, then decimate for low LOD in Softimage. But in my Softimage class I was told to best start modelling low res then add hi res detail in Zbrush later. Which should I follow for making game environment?

Thanks for your time!

Replies

• Torch
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Torch interpolator
    It sounds like you're getting way, way ahead of yourself - especially when speaking about making a whole environment and texturing for the first time. You want to get a firm understanding of the pipeline for creating a model and then think about making several assets after that. For instance, texturing aside, can you model the mushrooms you're talking about and get the shapes looking right without any textures/details?

You can go about creating the models either way, start off with a low poly and make the topology nice, then bring into ZBrush... or go straight into ZB and create it from a base sphere/cube, then retopologize (as in re-create the model so its a suitable mesh to import to a game engine.)

Are you using reference? A lot of artists starting off have the belief that using reference is cheating, when its actually vital to getting it looking right and believable. If you post some of the references you are using in this thread, people might be able to advise you on how to go about creating them.
  • Desperad0
    Options
    Offline / Send Message