Home Technical Talk

how to properly subdivide a mesh imported to zbrush

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
WindchILL polycounter lvl 4
Hi, I'm new to Zbrush so I apologize if the questions Im about to ask have simple answers. I just imported a mesh into Zbrush which is made up of several objects that I combined in Maya before importing (so it's treated as one object). When I try to subdivide in Zbrush though, nothing happens. For instance
URkmz0p.jpg
in the image above I want to subdivide the pillars so I can sculpt more detail on them. As you can see its gotten more than one subd level but it still looks the same. Idk why it doesnt show the extra faces on the pillars, let alone the entire combined mesh.

SI49hCI.jpg
Ive also tried using dynamesh to a slightly more successful degree, except it distorts some areas, for instance the paper tags by the top. Is this all because the object I imported is actually several objects combined together and Zbrush can't handle it, or am I missing a step or two?

Replies

• BARDLER
    Offline / Send Message
    BARDLER polycounter lvl 12
    That SMT button next to divide will smooth the mesh, when you have it unchecked it just adds more geo without smoothing anything. On a side note when you import objects into zbrush for sculpting try to make sure the topology is evenly distributed. This way when you smoothing you don't get crazy dense areas or areas that have not enough geo.
  • WindchILL
    Offline / Send Message
    WindchILL polycounter lvl 4
    thanks for the quick reply. isnt dynamesh supposed to fulfill that? and if thats the case why does it distort the areas aboe? or is it just better practice to do all the high-res stuff in Maya? (ie. add more horizontal/vertical edge loops in the pillars)
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range