Home Technical Talk

Rendering out from 3D for 2D games environments

pr1970
polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
pr1970 polycounter lvl 7
Hi All

Just about to embark on environment work on a 2d side scrolling game project , and being a total novice at 3d to 2d work I wondered if anyone has any tips,tutorials,etc that would be useful? If possible specific for tablets/phone markets.

its along these kind of lines, with tiled floors, walls,etc

icon_xl.jpg

I`d like to be able to setup a scene in 3d (Maya/3dsmax) and render out various elements into 2d tiles without too much 2d work, so I can go back an easily modify the 3d scene and get artwork into game quickly and painlessly. Thinking if there is some automated way I can render out various sections of the art work, so if I want to change the overall lighting or materials it could be done fairly quickly.

Thanks

Replies

• passerby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    passerby polycounter lvl 12
    more or less just rendering tiles from a fixed camera postion
  • pr1970
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pr1970 polycounter lvl 7
    Can you elaborate a bit more. I`m thinking of techniques such as light setups, camera setups,etc
    For example is it a good idea to just model all the back walls and then setup individual cameras to capture each section of the wall as tiles? or keep them all separate? Is it better to render high resolution and then scale them down in photoshop to the correct size? Filter settings for cameras/textures,etc?
    Just general best techniques for doing this kind of work is what i`m looking for. I`ve spent this week working on things and have learnt alot but would like to know from someone who has done this before and has experience.

Thanks again
  • Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message