Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

My Story/Work

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
zebus_0 polycounter lvl 7
So here's the 411 on me and what's going on:
I graduated last year with a BFA in Computer Animation. I was trained in Lightwave 3D, and I've spent maybe the last 4 months or more teaching myself to use 3DS Max. I made that decision because I want to get into the gaming industry as a prop/environment artist and the overwhelming majority of companies I looked at wanted Max competency. Also, in general now that I've used Max a bit I feel like I'm going to be able to use it more effectively, especially to model more natural and organic shapes, which was a pretty big weakness I had in Lightwave (partially, imo due to the failings of that program as far as sculpting goes).
My portfolio is at www.justinafleming.com
Right now it's basically bare bones, when I was in school so much focus was put on our Senior Show that I graduated basically with just one project completed (that show). I'm pretty gun-shy to even post my portfolio publically because of how weak I think it is, last time I posted it on a 3d board I got torn to pieces...and considered giving up animation entirely.
So general questions I guess, I haven't lurked here a super long time because I've been focused on self-teaching Max. Now that I know it, it's time to start building some substance into my portfolio. The question I ask is what should I put in it? I want to make props/environments so I think I'm going to work on building image galleries or props and adding more to the environment one and then cutting out the weaker stills. I assume that I should also include some that are wires instead of finished to show I can budget polygons.
I'm also starting to wonder if I shouldn't attempt to add some more classic/plastic art pieces like paintings and drawings. I'm not very strong in that dept and haven't produced anything for a very long time, but I have a feeling it's going to become necessary.