Home Unreal Engine

Lighting, Seams, and Smoothing Problems

Hello everyone, having an issue where my model is receiving bad lighting and has a seam on all the mirrored geometry. I did a test in Marmoset and everything appears fine, but is only in UDK were the issue appears. Also the smoothing on the model looks really nasty.

Also added my FBX export settings, I am using maya 2014 with fbx version 2013

Hope to get some feedback, I am fairly new with the engine, so any tips would be greatly appreciated.

UDK screen grabs

qbPMctK.jpg
olL78hg.jpg
NaYalxr.jpg

Marmoset screen grabs

FzRVZ7j.jpg

meOcyjZ.jpgklst5ow.jpg

Replies

• gutty333
    Ah, sorry for double post, did a quick test in Marmoset, and I think it might be how I am exporting my model, but still clueless on what the issue could be
  • Next
    Offline / Send Message
    Next polycounter lvl 12
    hiho .
    what u see in udk comes from the FACT! that the way they calculate the tangent space for their meshes is a different one from the one which you used to bake the normal map itself.
    therefore the numbers of the normal map and the mesh do not match thus those ugly vertex shading atifacts. which are just the difference of the current meshs tangent space compared to the normalmap being used. read more here: http://image.diku.dk/projects/media/morten.mikkelsen.08.pdf

there is only one option really... assign smoothing aka hard edges to flat areas of the mesh. unwrap it so that at least the hardedges mirror the uv shell seams. - for this u also will need to use a proper cage to bake the texture otherwise u get wired seams where there is a hard edge!

more about this u can read here in the wiki http://wiki.polycount.com/NormalMap?highlight=%28%5CbCategoryTexturing%5Cb%29 or at http://tech-artists.org/wiki/Normal_mapping
  • Money
    Offline / Send Message
    Money polycounter lvl 8
    Give hadplane a try, it should provide better shading for unreal.