Home Technical Talk

Normal map confusion.

swarmedia83
polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
swarmedia83 polycounter lvl 9
I've looked up tuts and followed them, but seem to still be having issues. I'm just learning about creating maps since its always been a bit of a confusing thing for me to do.

I created it in zbrush. I have the map size at 4096. The normal map options are set to tangent/smoothUV/Snormals. Once i create it i thought i would get the blue texture map with what seems like indents set onto the image. Instead i get a plain blueish purple image. A tut i saw seemed to have the same image so i figured this wasnt an issue.

Heres an example of that image, and the character in zbrush detailed at second to last highest setting, and the character in maya after setting up the map as i followed in the tut. As well as the bump settings.

faces_zps9f8ad852.jpg

attributes_zps3eddc85c.jpg

Is there something i'm doing wrong? The uvs seem fine. I checked them several times, and doesnt seem to be the issue. If theres anymore info needed to decipher the issue ill be glad to post it. Thanks in advance

Replies

• Bartalon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bartalon polycounter lvl 12
    Your normal maps are very hard to see in your attached images, but it looks like there is some pixel smearing going on. Zbrush does not like it when UVs are exactly along the 0 or 1 UV axes, resulting in a similar bake. If you have UVs resting on these axes, try scaling them down just slightly so they rest inside the 0-1 area.
  • Joopson
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joopson quad damage
    I'd say don't bake in zbrush. Use xNormal, or your native program.

My only explanation is that you're maybe baking from your high-poly to your high-poly, so there is no data to be put into the map. I don't know if that's true, but it's all I can think of.
  • Obscura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter
    Joopson wrote: »