Home Technical Talk

Meshes and textures feedback and help

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Ryandec polycounter lvl 8
Hi all, the currently studying games art and design at University.

Im in my first year at the moment and currently my skills arn't very good, I wanted to share the something im working on for University at the moment which is creating some meshes for use in Game engines. I have choosen a western theme and have been creating some building and such, I just wanted to ask for some feedback on how to improve my meshes in terms of texture, Uvs and Topology, I currently also stuck on how to texture a cactus which seems fairly stupid, it seems that texturing it my weakest part and I find it fairly difficult.

environemtnupdate.jpg

Here is currently what stage im at with some on the meshes, I think the did ok on the saloon texture but still not sure about it.

polycountcactus.bmp

Here is a a picture of the cactus im working on aswell, which im finding hard to texture.

Im open to all sort of criticism even if you just say its shit :P

Replies

• Obscura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter
    Hi, the texture density on the cactus is not equalized. Add a checkermap texture to your model and you will see what I am talking about. If you worrying about the seams, then i can recommend to use something like bodypaint3d or zbrush's polypaint/spotlight.
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shoot for this, or this, instead of this.
    Uneven timbers, rot and decay, slightly uneven building construction, settling details ect...

Put some uneven gaps between some of the boards, break a few boards out of the "clumps" to give them character.