Home Technical Talk

Quick Texture sheet question

This is my first time unwrapping a house, and I feel like this is not the proper way to texture it. I tried to unwrap it so each piece has UV space, but that led to low resolution, and a lot of frustration. Here is a picture of my current house (the texture are just there to show the different materials used) , uv layout, picture in UDK, and my unwrapped model. The flats are separate, the one shows my material spots, and the other is my UV layed out overtop.

Hopefully it can show what I am asking, is this the proper way to do this sort of thing? Also how would someone use a AO map with this sort of thing?

Thanks!

mvq5BOB.jpg

Replies

• Obscura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter
    You don't need to merge the uv's and the textures all together.This can cause low resolution and unequalized texel ratio. If you work with multiple textures, then display just one in the uveditor when you uving. About the ao, you need second uv map for this. This is also needed for lightmaps so you must make it.
  • TicoTaco
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura wrote: »
    You don't need to merge the uv's and the textures all together.This can cause low resolution and unequalized texel ratio. If you work with multiple textures, then display just one in the uveditor when you uving. About the ao, you need second uv map for this. This is also needed for lightmaps so you must make it.

Thanks for the reply. I had a hunch the AO would be a second UV channel.
    I am a little unsure of what you mean by using multiple textures though. Would you have to have the meshes seperate? Ie. Windows/window sills mesh, roof mesh, house bottom mesh each with their own uv's/texture sheets, or is there a way to have a single mesh (like mine) with multiple uv's and texture sheets?
  • Obscura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message