Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Pyxis' Art Dump

Pyxis
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Pyxis polycounter lvl 5
Hi everyone, I'm a game dev student in my second year, so I'm still learning how to make everything look shiny and amazing. :) I'll be posting shots of my projects here, and I'd definitely love some heavy crit and advice on my work! Anything I can do to improve, lay it on me.

Current Project:

7UXGvFn.jpg

Little girl and her backpack.

Replies

• Pyxis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Pyxis polycounter lvl 5
    I'm working on a sculpt of a Manticore for a project right now, which will eventually be rigged and textured. I'm still relatively new to the art of zbrush, I know my way around but I haven't done a whole lot with it yet. This is my design:

91HwrtA.jpg

And this is the rough lowpoly in Maya.

wcHqgeg.png

Is there anything that's not looking right here? My prof advised me to sculpt in the mane in zbrush when I start to define the muscle structure, so that's why it's not in the lowpoly.

Got the sculpting sort of done, I really like using the flatten brush for a cartoonier style. I still need to refine the detailing on it and do the tail.

8e6iGYW.png
  • Pyxis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Pyxis polycounter lvl 5
    mJiGHNL.png

Since I last posted I refined the shape some more and did the detail pass. The fur didn't turn out how I wanted it, but I'm strapped for time so it'll have to do.
  • Evil raz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Evil raz polycounter lvl 10
    I wouldn't sculpt the hair or either do it in a different sub-tool just for visual reasons.
    You need to work on your animal anatomy. Look at dogs/lions musculature.
    I don't see why you are stiffing the tail, you can loosen it like in the concept, the spiral shape. The face looks like a hog than the creature, In concept face looks closer to chimp or something, so try to base your face structure more closer to that.