Home General Discussion

Where do I even begin?

I've been digging through what I can to try and avoid posting this thread and although I probably have used the wrong search terms, I couldn't find an answer to my question;

Where does a complete beginner... begin?

What software should I be trying to learn to start with? Maya, 3DS, Mudbox or something else?

Is there a glossary of all the acronyms and terminology anywhere?

How are files structured and imported/exported?

What should I be doing when I begin?

I have no background in 3D at all; no industry or education connection and the interest is fairly recent. If anyone would be willing to help me out it would be much appreciated; I'm quite happy to have this conversation in PM if this thread would be cluttering the forum unnecessarily but I don't even know who to talk to, heh.

Thanks for your time guys :)

Replies

• leleuxart
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    leleuxart polycounter lvl 12
    I think learning how to model in general would be the best place to start. Maya or Max, your choice, although in my opinion, I think Maya is easier. I'd just start with a bunch of intro videos on modeling random things. Don't worry about modeling for games right now, just learn the programs first. Make some cool shit for the fun of it, otherwise you'll probably burn yourself out focusing too much on the technical side of modeling for games.

The Polycount Wiki would probably the be best glossary for you. Check out videos from Gnomon, Eat3D, 3DMotive, and various Youtube videos.

The structuring of files varies. There isn't any standard way to do it(until you get a job at a studio). I load stuff from my desktop, Dropbox, or jump-drive all the time, since I move between multiple computers on a daily basis. As long as you have all of the files you're working with, it doesn't matter how they're set-up. Once you get to working in an engine, then it gets a little messy with all of the textures.