Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Male character feedback needed

Hi everyone. I finally got some confidence to post my 3d artwork. I'm still pretty new to character modelling and it's about time I started participating in polycount community instead of quietly lurking around.

This is my 2nd ever character and I have mountains to climb to get to next-gen game standard, but I'm hoping you can give me some feedback on what I need to focus on and improve. Any suggestions are welcome and greatly appreciated. :)

I'm also writing up my university dissertation regarding some of the modelling techniques implemented whilst making this character, so I hope it's ok if I quote your feedback for areas to improve.

Finally, any tips regarding character presentation in real-time? (Is rigging essential for modellers to present their characters?)

Thanks, Simona.

wirekq.jpg

Replies

• BARDLER
    Offline / Send Message
    BARDLER polycounter lvl 12
    The polygon density is really odd in your model. Your boots are as dense as your hands even though they will have far less deformation. You pants are really low poly and would benefit from some polygon density at the base to really sell the jeans bunching up. You also have 2 n-gons by the clavicles, and a random triangle above his belt that would cause some deformation problems.

I like characters that are presented on a pedestal, with a mild gradient background, and no harsh shadows like you have. I wouldn't say rigging is necessary for presenting your characters but it could help a ton. Rigging allows you to pose your characters in much more interesting poses non-destructively. Second it makes you understand how to make your character models rigger friendly which helps you fit into a pipeline better.
  • simi
    BARDLER wrote: »