Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

low poly environment

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
WindchILL polycounter lvl 4
Hey everyone, this is my second thread so I'm still VERY new to this community, and I'm also a beginner in modeling/texturing. I'd appreciate it if I could give any critiques/feedback on geometry optimization and uv mapping. Also this is my first handpainted environment so any tips on how to get the visuals to pop would be appreciated. Here's what I got so far, I'll be working on it for the next 6-7 days and hope to finish by the end of this time period at the latest.

http://cgsyndrome.deviantart.com/art/Ghost-House-357726024

^here's the concept art from the person i got permission from to try recreate this in 3d.

http://p3d.in/db98d/wireonshadeless
^here's what i have so far. I'll be updating this constantly within the next several days. Thanks for reading!

Replies

• Jessica Dinh
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jessica Dinh polycounter lvl 10
    Hey, nice concept you chose. It would be easier to see your work if you could just embed the images in your thread though! Upload to imgur and paste the highlighted code here!

1EF1h.jpg
  • DWalker
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    How large is the house going to be? Small, like in an RTS, or large enough for the player to enter, like an FPS? If it's about the default size in your web model view, you'll want to increase (slightly) the number of sides on the entry arch, and reduce the number of sides for the spheres on the fence surrounding the house.

Unless your model is going to be very large, both the iron posts topping the fence and the entry gate can be modeled as flat sheets with an alpha test/blend texture. For larger models, you can add a normal map to give some depth to them; for small models, the diffuse alone should be enough.
  • WindchILL
    Options
    Offline / Send Message