Home General Discussion

Post graduate/Internship question

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Spudnik polycounter lvl 11
Hey guys,

I'm a recent BA graduate trying to get into an MA program. In the mean time, I'm trying to spend my time learning more, building up my resume etc (trying to focus on game Char/Environment art). I'm currently doing an internship at a 3D Visualization company and am now trying to figure out what to do next. The two big choices are these:

1) I was recently offered the chance to do a test week for an internship at a company that does cinematics for companies like Crytek, Epic etc. The twist is that I don't have any contract with them and they want to do the test week first before they do a contract at all. Monthly pay would be 400 Euros in a city where 300 Euros is pretty low for rent. So I'd have spend more than I'd earn each month but it could potentially be my foot in the door for the video games industry.

2) I've really come to love the Dota2 Workshop, made a bunch of friends here on Polycount who do as well, learned a shitton, and was thinking about doing that full time for half a year. I'd be able to live at home so side costs would be minimal. Most of all, I think it'd be the best practice, lots of smaller assets in a limited time frame.

A little it more info: I struggle to finish personal pieces as of right now because whenever I get home from work it's really unstructured. The way I'd go about tackling the Dota 2 Workshop would be to structure it like regular work with deadlines etc and involving the Dota 2 Polycount community to keep me honest.

Personally I see it as a case of having a stronger CV versus a stronger portfolio and obviously this is something that is very hard to call, but I'd just like to hear the opinions of professionals on this before I decide based off incorrect assumptions.