Home General Discussion

Proper Ways to Study? (Not as stupid as it sounds?) :|

kinggambitben
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
kinggambitben polycounter lvl 4
Sorry for such a naive post. I'm a newbie to 3d. :\ I'm planning on a regiment of 8-10 hours of tutorials/practice a day for about 2-3 years, but I want those hours to be as efficient as possible since I'm pretty late to the game art scene (I'm 22 years old). :(

What I noticed when learning other things (i.e. skateboarding, competitive gaming, drawing) is that hours invested could be drastically cut by "properly learning"; grinding out hours doesn't necessarily mean optimized, though I'm sure there's a correlation.

For experienced folks, were there any "scientific" methods of learning you've applied to your education as you became more experienced in 3d packages? (or were there things in retrospect that you wish you would've done when learning?) Any special exercises?

A very obvious example is that once I'm competent, I plan on giving myself exercises of time limits and fidelity of creations based on others' concept art.

Replies

• mikhga
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    mikhga polycounter lvl 8
    One time management technique you could use is the "pomodoro technique", which basically comes down to working in 25 minute sprints and after each sprint taking a 5 minute break. I can personally vouch for it's effectiveness. There are several ways to exercise this technique but I used a desktop application called "Tomighty" (http://www.tomighty.org/).

This will not only give make you more focused on your sprints but also give you a better understanding of how long certain tasks will take you.
  • ZacD
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master