Home General Discussion

Am I really good enough for the Games Industry?

jimmyjaba
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
jimmyjaba polycounter lvl 5
Hello all. Let me first state that this post isn't a plea for compliments, it's simply a query.

I have been building my portfolio for the past three years, and have been involved in some small projects, as well as gaining a years experience in a small indie studio. Since leaving the small indie studio I have been desperately searching for work, with little or no response from job applications. Times are hard financially for me what with a mortgage and wedding to plan for. My question is is my work good enough for the Games Industry or should I give up trying and start a new career in something else? I never took a course concentrating on game art (I am completely self taught) and with the talent of the people leaving university about 3 years younger than me I feel that my portfolio will always be over shadowed by younger more talented people. My fiance doesn't want me to stop trying, but bills are bills. I could really do with some guidence with this. Thanks in advance

My portfolio: Link

Replies

• d1ver
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    d1ver polycounter lvl 14
    Yes you are.

Worst comes to worst you just get a temp job and continue trying. Also consider freelancing - i's good experience and could be good money.

In this industry not getting hired for months unfortunately could have nothing to with you. :(

Oh and that mortgage sounds scary. Because in order to get good jobs moving is usually necessary. Something to keep in mind.
  • Muzzoid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Muzzoid polycounter lvl 10
    Here's the thing with getting any creative job. This is just my experience with it.

There is an average skill level floor, where you have a ton of people at this skill level, and everybody at this level has trouble getting jobs.