Home Technical Talk

FBX file animation problem

Hi there,

As a noob I'm struggling to find a way for correctly setting the animation with the exporting of a fbx fila from 3ds max.

Let’s start from the beginning. I have made a gun model and animate it. The animation sequence starts from frame 1 and finishes at frame 62 with a custom FPS of 10. I have to maintain this numbers with the exportation of the FBX if not the model in game doesn't work write at list not the animation.

In the exportation FBX plugin version 2013.1 I have set animation on with the baking option to start at 1 end 62 step 1. But after the exportation the animation gets elongated from 0 to 100.

Hope that I made myself clear enough, so somebody kind enough can help me.

Thanks in advance

Replies

• monster
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    monster polycounter
    The latest FBX plugins act very strange. But you should be able to fix it with these steps.

1. Start your animation at frame 0.
    2. Select all your objects and remove any keys set outside of your desired frame range.
    3. Change your active time range to match your frame range as well.
    4. Make sure objects you want to export are unhidden.

BTW, the bake option doesn't clip the sequence. For example if you have keys set from frames 0-100, and you bake frames 20-70. It will still export frames 0-100, but the frames between 20-70 will be resampled with your bake options. It's dumb, but that's how it works for me.

The framerate should be taken from your scene automatically.

I don't remember having to do all these steps in older versions of the FBX plugin, but it's what I do now and it works.
  • Helloween
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the help monster.

Solved the issiew with correcting the time space in blender after importing the animated file from 3DS max.
  • McGreed
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    McGreed polycounter lvl 15