Home› Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Zarakun

Zarakun
polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Zarakun polycounter lvl 7
Hi to all the Polycount community!
I juste created a forum account, but I've been hanging around for few month now. Unlink most of people here, I'm not an artist and I'm not actually working in 3D/video-game industry. I'm pretty far from this field to be honest since I'm trying to finish my PhD in biology. However, I'm really interested in 3D modeling as a hobby for now and I wish I will be able to improve my skills thru hard work.

I saw many of the improvement done by a lot of members in few month here and this is really impressive. As I learn on my own aside from my real work I don't have that much time left for training, so the thing I really need to learn efficiently are constructive critics from confirmed artists and I know you are a lot out there! :) Unfortunately, the only critics I can get from self learning are friends ones and self-critics, and I know I wont progress that way! Since I'm hard on myself, don't hesitate to tell the truth and to point the problems in what I'll post here.

I've already done some stuff in Blender long ago but I recently got my student version of Maya. I know this software is used along with 3dsmax and zbrush in video-game industry so I decided to focus myself on 3D modeling with this software.

Here are some screens from the first exercise I tried with maya, I had to use boxmodeling to create an airplane or a spaceship. Since I found some kind of blueprints for the Normandy SR2 from mass effect, I decided to give it a try!

1OqgZ6er

jNhZOmYa

OWSy67KW

However since all this mesh is made of one piece, I think there is a lot of useless geometry that come from edge loop used basically for tiny details. But I don't really know how to remove or stop these useless edges while keeping everything made of quads... Based on some tutorials I saw online, I tried to remove some of them by creating poles:

xkDgz5WA