Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Newb needs critique!

Hello Polycounters!

I'm Darryl Brownstone, aspiring game artist with a focus in Environments and props! I have been floating around polycount for quite some time now and I think it is about time to make an official greeting!

About me:
Over the past six months or so, I have set myself on a total crash course. I've been absorbing as much information as I possibly can including all the things involved with game art and workflows. I can not say I am completely 100% self taught, given that I have learned a great deal from folks like Xoliul and his work on Eat3D, the talent from 3D Motive and not to mention, all of the wonderful work from all of you polycounters!

Samples
I have some samples of some of my work (not much as of yet) on my portfolio site. all of which are in need of critique along with the site itself. I would much appreciated and encourage the most bluntest of comments!

Thank you all!

4156115_orig.jpg?443

7773451_orig.jpg?443

Replies

• dpaynter26
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    dpaynter26 polycounter lvl 11
    Hey man it looks alright I think you should work on your textures a bit but if you do that it'll look really good :)
  • DInusty
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DInusty polycounter lvl 17
    looks pretty good if your saying your a newb hehe. pay attention to scale. thats huge and seems that things are defiantly slightly larger then "normal" keep it up i want to see more!
  • Brownstone
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you for the replies, Would any of you mind pointing out the areas that need reworking? the textures and the scale.

Also too, I need a couple of thoughts on the portfolio site if anyone minds.
  • Aga22
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Aga22 polycounter lvl 11