Home General Discussion

Graphic Design sub-forum?

Hi,

I wanted to know if Polycount is still going to create a Graphic Design Sub-forum. I checked the sites wiki about a month ago and looked at the "User Interface" Section, it said we will soon have a Graphic Design sub-forum. I'm a Graphic Design student and I would love to have a section dedicated to Graphic Designing.

Replies

• imyj
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    imyj polycounter lvl 8
  • the_Adri
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bumping this up in hopes of getting an update.
  • Andreas
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Andreas polycounter lvl 11
    I think just posting your work in WAYWO and maybe a sticky in Technical Talk would suffice no? Start a thread there anyway and maybe if it takes off it'll get stickied. :) Love seeing UI stuff here, it's not really that common unfortunately.
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    In general sub-forums tend to be frowned upon here, for a few reasons:

1) They fracture the community and often hide posts that might get more attention. It's easy for the traffic in those sub-forums to drop off and look dead.

2) Proper naming of thread titles often replaces the need for sub-forums.

For example we don't have 3dsmax and Maya in separate sub forums, but instead people include those programs in their thread titles.
    So "offset stacked UV shells?" Becomes "3dsmax offset stacked UV shells" and gets rid of the need for a sub-forum. So we don't need, modeling > Max > UV Editor > Dealing with shells sub forums we just need smarter thread titles.